.5 Hello USA

Approximately 20 hours ago I left my beautiful home in Germany and arrived in the US with my family. Being military, this is something we’ve done about every 3 years or so (except high school when I was allowed to stay and finish all four years). We’ve arrived this evening and so far I’m not pleased. One: it’s fucking hot and I don’t need help sweating. Two: I’ve encountered more bugs here in 30 minutes than I had in Minnesota in 3 years.

We are so very close to being where we need to be. It’s just a matter of house-hunting now. I’m in closer proximity to my friends, which isn’t saying much because it’s a 14 hour drive from me to them. But at least I have phone service now (first world perk). And that’s really the most exciting part of being here.

I think it’s safe to assume that it’s clear I didn’t want to come back. But I have business to attend to, that I can only do here because I’m not qualified enough to have picked myself up by the bootstraps in Germany. No biggie. I’m both worried and completely fine. It’s a very interesting concept.

I’ve an early morning tomorrow. And who knows what else this week will bring.

Thanks for sticking around.

Leave a Reply

